My Wizard Buddy / Wizard Planet / Target: Earth

My Wizard Buddy 1-3

I already reviewed one of Scott Spotson’s stand-alone novels – the thoroughly weird Seeking Dr. Magic – a couple of months ago but for today’s post I’m going to be taking a look at his series aimed at younger readers. The My Wizard Buddy series was written by Spotson and Brian W. Wu and focuses on the magical adventures of a pre-teen boy. It currently consists of three novels – My Wizard Buddy, Wizard Planet and Target: Earth – which were all published in 2014, but there has been no word as to whether or not the series will continue beyond this. Due to the fact that these books are pretty short, I’ll be looking at them all in this review.

Eleven year old Tyler Dunsmore is thoroughly bored with his life. He has no friends at school and is constantly tormented by his bratty sister, Lily. After one particularly big argument he wishes out loud for a best friend and is shocked when Dirk immediately appears in front of him. Dirk is a young wizard from the planet Adgiligda and is more than happy to use his powers to make Tyler happy.

The first novel, My Wizard Buddy, details their early adventures together as Dirk uses his magic to help Tyler get his own back on the school bully and win the friendship of the popular boys in his class. In the sequel, Wizard Planet, Dirk takes Tyler back to his home world in order to show him what it is like to live as a wizard.

The final book – Target: Earth – takes the series in a new direction as an alien race called the Genzi make contact with Earth and state their intent to take sixteen humans away for research. Although the President of America refuses their demands, the aliens abduct a selection of humans of various genders and ages. Among the taken are Tyler, separating him from Dirk. Without his friend’s magic, Tyler must use his own abilities in order to escape the Genzi and return home.


Seeking Dr. Magic

Seeking Dr. Magic

Seeking Dr. Magic was written by Scott Spotson and was first published in 2013. It is a mystery story containing fantastical elements which focuses on a retired FBI agent’s attempts to uncover the identity of a powerful wizard. The novel stands alone as a complete story in its own right and so you do not have to have read any of Spotson’s earlier works in order to fully appreciate it.

It is a perfectly ordinary afternoon when the first phantom ninja throws itself off a building in Chicago. The mysterious creature proves that it is able to survive a fall of a hundred feet before it leaps back up the side of the building and disappears. As videos are uploaded to the internet, it rapidly becomes apparent that the same thing is happening worldwide yet no one can explain how the stunts could take place.

Theories about the phenomena vary wildly, from holograms to alien invasions, but Tony Hetfield is not convinced by them. He is a former FBI agent, now working as a private investigator after an injury forced him to retire. Since he solved a high profile case, the detective has enjoyed celebrity status and is quick to make his opinions on the phantom ninjas heard. He believes that they can only have been created by a powerful wizard – a man he dubs Dr. Magic.

Although his former colleagues ridicule him, Tony reaches out in an attempt to contact Dr. Magic and soon succeeds. In their brief meeting, he manages to deduce a few things about his past and this gives him everything he needs to begin an investigation. As he delves into Dr. Magic’s origins, he looks to answer two questions – is Dr. Magic human and is he capable of hurting others?


Blog Stats

  • 98,403 awesome people have visited this blog